Motorized Bicycle Laws in the United States

Motorized Bike Laws: A State by State Breakdown

Street sign for bikes and motorized bikes.Motorized bikes can be a fun and efficient way to tackle your morning commute, and they’re a great way to take your bike riding to the next level. Motorized bikes, which consist of a 2-stroke engine or 4-stroke engine installed on a bicycle, are versatile and fuel-efficient, but there might be certain guidelines in place in your state that you will have to take into consideration before you start riding.

If you’re unsure of the rules surrounding motorized bikes in your area, don’t worry! This guide offers a state-by-state breakdown of motorized bicycle laws, rules, and regulations that you should be aware of before you take your gas-powered bicycle for a spin.

State-by-State Motorized Bicycle Laws

From required helmet use and light regulations to engine size and designated riding areas, each state has different guidelines for motorized bicycle riders. It’s important that you familiarize yourself with the specific regulations in your state so that you can enjoy riding without worrying about breaking any motorized bike laws.

Here’s everything you’ll need to know regarding motorized bicycles laws for each state.

Alabama

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Motorized bike on the side of the street.

Photo: BikeBerry (Facebook)

In Alabama, any motorized vehicles including scooters, mopeds, and motorized bikes, are classified as motor-driven cycles regardless of whether or not its engine displacement is under or over 50cc.

License and Registration Requirements

In order to ride a motorized bike in Alabama, you will need:

  • A motorcycle license with a “B” restriction. 
    • This means you can ride a motor-driven cycle, but you have not completed the steps to become a fully licensed motorcycle user.
    • Obtaining a “B” restricted motorcycle license will require you to pass a written exam, and it must be renewed every four years.
  • You will also need to register your motorized bike with the Department of Revenue’s Motor Vehicle Division before you can ride it in Alabama.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to apply for a “B” restricted motorcycle license, you must be at least 14 years old.

Helmet Laws

According to Alabama’s motor-driven cycle regulations, all riders must wear a helmet when operating a motorized bike.

Light and Mirror Regulations

When riding at night, your motorized bicycle must be equipped with the following:

  • A front light that is visible from a distance of 500 feet.
  • A rear red reflective light that is visible from a distance of at least 100 feet.
  • Motorized bicycles must be equipped with mirrors.

Learn more about bike laws in Alabama.

Alaska

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Alaska, motorized bicycles need to have an engine displacement that is under 50cc.

  • You can ride your motorized bike on any public roads, but you may not use these bikes on sidewalks or on bike paths.

License and Registration Requirements

Anyone over the age of 15 can operate a motorized bicycle with a standard driver’s license.

  • If you do not have a driver’s license, you can apply for a Class M1 motorcycle license.
  • In order to ride a motorized bike in Alaska, you will need to register your motorized bicycle with the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles. 

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle in Alaska, you must be at least 14 years old. 

  • If you are between the ages of 14 and 15, you must apply for a Class M2 permit.

Helmet Laws

According to Alaska’s motor-driven cycle regulations, riders 18 and older are not required to wear a helmet if they have the proper license for operating a motorized bicycle. 

  • Any riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet.
  • Riders are also required to wear protective eye gear.
  • Despite state regulations, it is still recommended that you wear a helmet when operating motorized bikes regardless of age.

Light and Mirror Regulations

A motorized bike with a red taillight.Motor-driven cycles must have at least one front headlight visible from a distance of at least 100 feet when operating at speeds of 20 mph or less. This front light must be turned on at all times when the bike is used on the highway.

Alaska also requires motorized bicycles to have a red reflective taillight visible from at least 500 feet to the rear of the cycle.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Alaska.

Arizona

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Arizona, a motorized bicycle must have:

  • An engine displacement of 50cc or less.
  • A maximum top speed of 25 mph.

License and Registration Requirements

In order to ride a motorized bike in Arizona, you will need any class of driver’s license.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle in Arizona, you need a valid driver’s license — as such, the minimum age requirement is 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

Riders 18 and older are not required to wear a helmet if they have the proper license for operating a motorized bicycle.

  • Any riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet.
  • Despite state regulations, it is still recommended that you wear a helmet when operating a motorized bike regardless of age.

Light and Mirror Regulations

In Arizona, regulations state that all motorized bicycles must have the following:

  • A minimum of one front headlight visible from at least 100 feet when operating at speeds of 20 mph or less.
    • This front light must be turned on at all times when the bike is used on the highway.
  • Arizona also requires motorized bicycles to have a red reflective taillight visible from at least 500 feet to the rear of the cycle.
  • In Arizona, riders must have motorized bikes equipped with mirrors and a license plate light.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Arizona.

Arkansas

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Arkansas, a motorized bicycle is any motorized vehicle with an engine displacement of 50cc or less.

License and Registration Requirements

In Arkansas, motorized bike riders can operate a bike as long as they have any form of driver’s license. 

  • This includes a learner’s permit.
  • The bike must be registered the same way that a motorcycle would be registered in Arkansas.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle, riders must be at least 14 years old.

  • Riders between the ages of 14 and 16 can apply for a Class M license.

Helmet Laws

Though Arkansas does not have specific helmet laws for motorized bicycle users, motorcycle riders under the age of 21 must wear a helmet if their bike is capable of reaching speeds of 20 mph or more.

Light and Mirror Regulations

In Arkansas, all motorized bicycles must have:

  • A minimum of one front headlight visible from at least 500 feet.
  • A red rear reflector.
  • A red taillight visible from at least 500 feet to the rear of the cycle.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Arkansas.

California

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In California, a motorized bicycle is a motorized vehicle that meets the following criteria:

  • Operates at maximum speeds of 30 mph or less on level ground.
  • Has an automatic transmission.
  • Has fully operable pedals.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders need to have a valid motorcycle rider’s license — either class M1 or M2 is acceptable.

  • In California, motorized bikes must be registered the same way a motorcycle would be registered.
  • All motorized bikes must have a specialty license plate.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle, riders must have a valid motorcycle rider’s license, so the minimum age requirement is 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

Man putting on helmet before riding motorized bike.All motorized bicycle riders in California must wear a helmet when operating their vehicle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

In California, motorized bicycles must have:

  • A minimum of one front headlight visible from at least 500 feet
  • A rear red taillight visible from at least 500 feet to the rear of the cycle.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in California.

Colorado

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Colorado, motorized bicycles are classified as low-powered scooters as long as they have the following:

  • An automatic engine.
  • An engine displacement that is 50cc or lower.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders can operate a low-powered scooter as long as they have a valid driver’s license.

  • Riders must register their bike with Colorado’s DMV.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle, riders must have a valid driver’s license, so the minimum age requirement is 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

All motorized bicycle riders under the age of 18  in Colorado must wear a helmet when operating their vehicle.

  • Passengers must also wear helmets.

Light and Mirror Regulations

In Colorado, motorized bicycles must have:

  • A rear-view mirror.
  • A front headlight visible from at least 500 feet.
  • A rear red taillight visible from at least 500 feet to the rear of the cycle.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Colorado.

Connecticut

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Connecticut defines motorized bicycles as motor-driven cycles with the following:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • A seat height of at least 26 inches.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders can operate their low-powered scooter as long as they have a valid driver’s license.

  • Riders are not required to register or purchase insurance for their motorized bicycle.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle, riders must have a valid driver’s license, so the minimum age requirement is 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

All motorized bicycle riders under the age of 18  in Connecticut must wear a helmet when operating a motorized bike.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Connecticut does not have any specific light and mirror restrictions.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Connecticut.

Delaware

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Delaware classifies motorized bicycles as motor-driven cycles with:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 55cc.
  • Two wheels that are at least 10 inches in diameter.

Motorized bicycles cannot be used on interstates or railroads, and they can only be used on bike paths if the motor is turned off.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders can operate their bicycle as long as they have a valid driver’s license.

  • Riders must register and purchase a title for their motorized bicycle through Delaware’s DMV.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle, riders must have a valid driver’s license, so the minimum age requirement is 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

All motorized bicycle riders under the age of 16 must wear a helmet.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Rearview mirror on a motorized bicycle.In Delaware, motorized bicycles must have:

  • A rear-view mirror.
  • A front headlight visible from at least 500 feet.
  • A rear red taillight visible from at least 500 feet to the rear of the cycle.

In addition, Delaware also requires bikes to be equipped with a bell (or another noise-making device) that can be heard from at least 100 feet away.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Delaware.

Florida

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Florida, motorized bicycles are considered mopeds, and they must have the following:

  • Pedals.
  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • No automatic clutch.
  • Maximum top speed of 30 mph on level ground.

Riders may not use their motorized bikes on sidewalks or public roadways.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders can operate their vehicle as long as they have a valid driver’s license.

  • This does not apply to learner’s permits.
  • Riders may — but are not required to — register their motorized bicycle with the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle, riders must have a valid driver’s license, so the minimum age requirement is 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

In Florida, riders are not required to wear a helmet when operating their motorized bicycle.

  • Despite state regulations, is still strongly recommended to wear a helmet when operating a motorized bike.

Light and Mirror Regulations

In Florida, motorized bicycles must have:

  • One front headlight visible from at least 500 feet away.
  • A rear red taillight visible from at least 500 feet to the rear of the cycle.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Florida.

Georgia

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Bike lane with sign.In Georgia, motorized bicycles are considered mopeds, and they must have an engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.

  • Riders may not use their motorized bikes on limited access roadways or roads with a minimum speed limit of at least 35 mph.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders can operate their bicycle as long as they have a valid driver’s license.

  • This applies to learner’s permits, as well.
  • Riders are not required to register their motorized bicycle.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle, riders must have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit, so the minimum age requirement is 15 years old.

Helmet Laws

All riders are required to wear helmets whenever operating a motorized bike.

Light and Mirror Regulations

In Georgia, motorized bicycles are not subject to any light or mirror restrictions or regulations.

  • Despite state regulations, it is still recommended to use lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Georgia.

Hawaii

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Hawaii, motorized bicycles are classified as mopeds or motor-driven cycles as long as:

  • Their engine displacement is 50cc or less.
  • They do not operate at speeds greater than 30mph on level ground.

Riders may not use their motorized bikes on limited access roadways or roads with a minimum speed limit of at least 35 mph.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders can operate their motor-driven cycle as long as they have a valid driver’s license.

  • Riders may also have a learner’s permit.
  • Riders in Hawaii are required to register their motorized bicycle.
  • Motorized bikes are subject to an annual safety inspection.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle, riders must have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit, so the minimum age requirement is 15 and-a-half years old.

Helmet Laws

All riders are required to wear helmets whenever operating a motorized bike in Hawaii.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Motorized bicycles must use a headlight and taillight from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Hawaii.

Idaho

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Idaho, motorized bicycles are classified as mopeds and must meet the following criteria:

  • Motorized bike engine displacement should be 50cc or less.
  • The engine should have an automatic drive system.
  • The motor-driven cycle cannot operate at speeds greater than 30mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders can operate their bicycle as long as they have a valid driver’s license. 

  • Riders are not required to register or purchase a title for their motorized bicycle.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle, riders must have a valid driver’s license, so the minimum age requirement is 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

Bicycle helmet on a motorized bike.All riders under the age of 18 are required to wear helmets whenever operating a motorized vehicle in Idaho.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Idaho does not have any specific light or mirror regulations.

  • Despite state regulations, it is still highly recommended to use lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Idaho.

Illinois

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Illinois, motorized bicycles are classified as mopeds or scooters. They must have:

  • An engine displacement that is 50cc or less.
  • Fully functioning pedals.
  • The ability of reaching 20 mph.
  • Motorized bikes cannot operate at speeds greater than 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders can operate their bicycle as long as they have a valid driver’s license. 

  • Riders must register their motorized bicyle.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bicycle in Illinois, riders must have a valid driver’s license, so the minimum age requirement is 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

Illinois does not require motorized bicycle riders to wear helmets.

  • Despite state regulations, wearing a helmet when operating motorized bikes is still recommended.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Illinois requires motorized bicycle riders to use:

  • A front light visible from at least 500 feet.
  • A red rear reflector visible from 100 to 600 feet to the rear.
  • It is encouraged for riders to have a rear red light visible from at least 500 feet in addition to the reflector.
  • All motorized bike riders must wear protective eye gear.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Illinois.

Indiana

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Indiana, motorized bicycles are classified as Class B motor-driven cycles. 

  • They must have an engine displacement that is 50cc or less.
  • They must have a seat for the rider.
  • They should have fewer than three wheels on the ground at any given time.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders in Indiana can operate their bicycle as long as they have one of the following:

  • A valid driver’s license.
  • A learner’s permit.
  • A Motor Driven Cycle Class B endorsement.
  • Registration for their motorized bicycle.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit, so the minimum age requirement is 15 years old.

Helmet Laws

Any motorized bicycle rider under the age of 18 must wear a helmet.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Safety headlight on motorized bicycle.In Indiana, it is encouraged for motorized bicycle riders to use the following:

  • A rearview mirror.
  • A headlight.
  • A taillight.
  • All motorized bicycle riders are required to wear protective eye gear.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Indiana.

Iowa

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Motorized bicycles in Iowa must have the following:

  • A seat designated for the driver only.
  • A maximum top speed of 39 mph on level ground.
  • The ability to go at least 20 mph when on a three percent incline.

Riders cannot carry passengers on their motorized bicycle in Iowa, and they must keep both hands on the handlebar grips at all times.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders in Iowa can operate their bicycle as long as they are over the age of 18 and have a valid driver’s license.

  • A valid moped license is acceptable so long as it covers the cc displacement of your engine. 
  • Riders are required to register their motorized bike.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 14 years old to operate a motorized bicycle.

Helmet Laws

The state of Iowa does not require motorized bike riders to wear a helmet.

  • Despite state regulations, wearing a helmet when operating motorized bikes is still highly recommended.

Light and Mirror Regulations

In Iowa, any individuals operating a motorized bike must:

  • Use and keep their headlights on whenever they are on public roads.
  • Attach an orange safety flag to the rear of their bicycle.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Iowa.

Kansas

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Kansas, motorized bicycles must have the following:

  • A pedal system that can be operated manually.
  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 130cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • A maximum speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders in Iowa can operate their motor-driven cycle as long as they have a valid driver’s license or a valid moped license.

  • Different counties in Kansas have different regulations regarding motorized bike registration. It is recommended that you visit your local DMV for specific details regarding your county’s motorized bike registration requirements.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 15 years old with a valid moped license.

Helmet Laws

In Kansas, all riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet.

Light and Mirror Regulations

It is recommended that motorized bikes are equipped with headlights that are visible from at least 300 feet away.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Kansas.

Kentucky

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Kentucky, motorized bicycles must have the following:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • A top speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have one of the following:

  • A valid driver’s license.
  • A learner’s permit.
  • A motorcycle license.
  • A motorcycle permit.
  • A Class E moped license.
  • In Kentucky, riders are not required to register their motorized bikes.

Minimum Age Requirement

In order to operate a motorized bike, riders must be at least 16 years old with a valid moped license.

Helmet Laws

Riders are not required to wear a helmet when operating a motorized bike in Kentucky.

  • Despite state regulations, wearing a helmet when operating motorized bikes is highly recommended for added safety purposes.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Kentucky does not have any specific regulations regarding lights, mirrors, or other safety equipment.

  • Despite state regulations, it is still recommended to use lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Kentucky.

Louisiana

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Louisiana, a motorized bicycle must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • A top speed of 25 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

In Louisiana, motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement.

  • Riders must register their motorized bicycles the same way they would register a motorcycle.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 15 years old to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

Bicycle helmet on the rear rack of a motorized bike.Riders are required to wear a helmet with a chin strap, visor, and proper padding when operating a motorized bike in Louisiana

Light and Mirror Regulations

Louisiana requires motorized bikes to have the following:

  • One (but no more than two) headlights.
  • One rear reflector.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Louisiana.

Maine

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Motorized bicycles must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • Two or three wheels that are at least 10 inches in diameter.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license or a moped license.

  • Riders do not need to register their motorized bicycles in Maine.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old to operate a motorized bicycle in Maine.

Helmet Laws

Riders over the age of 16 are not required to wear a helmet when using a motorized bicycle unless they are using a learner’s permit.

  • Despite state regulations, wearing a helmet when operating motorized bikes is still highly recommended.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Maine requires motorized bikes to have:

  • A rearview mirror.
  • Headlight.
  • Taillight.
  • Brake light.
  • A license plate and plate light.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Maine.

Maryland

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Motorized bikes must have the following:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc, or a motor with 2.7 horsepower or less.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • At least one of the motorized bike’s two wheels must be greater than 14 inches in diameter.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license or a moped license.

  • Riders must register their motorized bike and obtain a motor scooter title and decals.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old to operate a motorized bicycle in Maryland.

Helmet Laws

All riders are legally required to wear a helmet and protective eye gear when operating their motorized bike.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Maryland does not have any specific light or mirror regulations or requirements.

  • Despite state regulations, using lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night, is recommended.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Maryland.

Massachusetts

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Motorized bicycles must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • A maximum speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit.

  • Riders must register their motorized bike, but they do not need to have a title.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old to operate a motorized bicycle in Massachusetts.

Helmet Laws

All riders and their passengers are required to wear a helmet when operating a motorized bike.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Massachusetts does not have any specific light or mirror regulations for motorized bike riders.

  • Despite state regulations, it is recommended to use lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Massachusetts.

Michigan

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

According to Michigan statutes, motorized bicycles must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 100cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • A maximum speed of 30 mph on level ground.

Riders may not operate a motorized bike on a sidewalk.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have one of the following:

  • A valid driver’s license.
  • A chauffeur’s license.
  • A moped license.
  • Riders must register their motorized bike and apply the associated decals to their bike.

Minimum Age Requirement

In Michigan, riders must be at least 15 years old to operate a motorized bicycle.

Helmet Laws

Michigan requires all riders under the age of 19 to wear a helmet when on a motorized bike.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Michigan requires all motorized bikes to be equipped with at least one headlamp.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Michigan.

Minnesota

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Minnesota, motorized bikes must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • Less than two horsepower.
  • A maximum speed of 30 mph on level ground.
  • Riders may not operate their bikes on interstate highways, trails, or bicycle paths.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike helmet with straps.Motorized bike riders in Minnesota must have a valid driver’s license or moped license.

  • Riders using a moped license must have proof of insurance.
  • Riders must register their motorized bike and obtain a license plate.

Minimum Age Requirement

In Minnesota, riders must be at least 15 years old to operate a motorized bicycle.

Helmet Laws

All riders under the age of 18 must wear a helmet when on a motorized bike.

  • Riders must also wear protective eye gear regardless of age.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Minnesota does not have specific light or mirror restrictions or regulations in place for motorized bike riders.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Minnesota.

Mississippi

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Mississippi, motorized bicycles must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 55cc.
  • A step-through frame.
  • Less than 2.7 horsepower.
  • A driver’s seat.
  • At least one wheel that is greater than 10 inches in diameter.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a motorcycle license or a motorcycle endorsement.

  • Motorized bikes must be registered in the same way that a motorcycle would be registered.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 17 years old to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

All riders must wear a helmet when on a motorized bike in Mississippi.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Mississippi requires motorized bikes to be equipped with rearview mirrors.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Mississippi

Missouri

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In order to be classified as a motorized bicycle, your vehicle must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • Less than three horsepower.
  • A top speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license in order to operate their bike legally in Missouri.

  • You do not need to register your motorized bike or purchase a title in Missouri.

Minimum Age Requirement

Missouri requires riders to have a driver’s license in order to ride a motorized bicycle — as such, riders must be at least 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

Riders are not legally required to wear a helmet when on a motorized bike.

  • Despite state regulations, it is recommended to wear a helmet when operating motorized bikes.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Rear reflector on motorized bike.From 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise, riders must have the following on their motorized bike:

  • A headlight.
  • A rear reflector.
  • Pedal reflector.
  • Side reflectors.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Missouri.

Montana

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In order to be classified as a motorized bicycle, your bike must have:

  • Pedals.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • Less than two horsepower.
  • A top speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders in Montana must have a valid driver’s license in order to operate their bike legally.

  • Riders in Montana need to register their bikes the same way that they would register a motorcycle.

Minimum Age Requirement

Because Montana requires riders to have a driver’s license in order to ride a motorized bicycle, riders must be at least 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

Riders under the age of 18 are legally required to wear a helmet when on a motorized bike.

Light and Mirror Regulations

At night or other times during the day when there is no sunlight, riders must have:

  • A headlight visible from 500 feet away.
  • A rear reflector or red taillight visible from at least 500 feet away.
  • Side reflective material.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Montana.

Nebraska

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In order to be classified as a motorized bicycle in Nebraska, your bike must have:

  • An automatic transmission.
  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • No more than two horsepower.
  • A top speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit in order to operate their vehicle legally.

  • Riders in Nebraska do not need to register their bikes unless they choose to remove the pedals from their motorized bicycle.

Minimum Age Requirement

Nebraska requires riders to have a driver’s license or learner’s permit in order to ride a motorized bicycle. This means the minimum age requirement for motorized bike riders is 14 years old.

Helmet Laws

All riders are legally required to wear a helmet with a chin strap when on a motorized bike in Nebraska.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Nebraska does not have specific light or mirror regulations for motorized bicycles.

  • Despite state regulations, it is recommended for riders to use lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Nebraska.

Nevada

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Nevada, motorized bikes must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • No more than two horsepower.
  • A top speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license in order to operate their bike legally in Nevada.

  • Riders in Nevada must register their motorized bicycles.

Minimum Age Requirement

Because Nevada requires riders to have a driver’s license in order to operate a motorized bicycle, individuals must be at least 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

Nevada does not require motorized bicycle riders to wear a helmet.

  • Despite state regulations, we still recommend wearing a helmet when operating motorized bikes.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Nevada does not have any specific light or mirror regulations or restrictions, and the state does not require motorized bicycles to be equipped with turn signals.

  • Despite state regulations, we recommend using lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Nevada.

New Hampshire

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In New Hampshire, motorized bicycles must have the following:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • No more than two horsepower.
  • A top speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license or a moped license to operate a motorized bicycle in New Hampshire.

  • Riders must register their motorized bike.

Minimum Age Requirement

New Hampshire requires riders to have a driver’s license in order to ride a motorized bicycle, so riders must be at least 16 years old.

Helmet Laws

Anyone under the age of 18 using a motorized bicycle, whether a rider or passenger, must wear a helmet.

Light and Mirror Regulations

New Hampshire requires motorized bicycles to be equipped with headlights visible from at least 300 feet away at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in New Hampshire.

New Jersey

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

To be classified as a motorized bicycle in New Jersey, bikes must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • No more than 1.5 horsepower.
  • A top speed of 25 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license or a moped license to operate a motorized bicycle in New Jersey.

  • Riders must register and title their motorized bicycles, and they must have liability insurance.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 15 years old to operate a motorized bike in New Jersey.

Helmet Laws

New Jersey law requires all motorized bike riders to wear a helmet.

Light and Mirror Regulations

New Jersey requires motorized bicycles to be equipped with both headlights and taillights.

  • The state also mandates that motorized bicycles have a bell or other sound device that can be heard from at least 100 feet away.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in New Jersey.

New Mexico

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

To be classified as a moped in New Mexico, motorized bicycles must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 50cc.
  • Horsepower that’s no higher than 1.5.
  • A maximum speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders must have a valid driver’s license or permit to operate a motorized bicycle in New Mexico.

  • As long as you have a valid license or permit, you do not need to register your motorized bike in New Mexico.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders in New Mexico must be at least 15 years old to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

New Mexico helmet laws require all riders under the age of 18  to wear a helmet when riding a motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

New Mexico does not have any specific light or mirror regulations.

  • Despite state regulations, we still recommend using lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in New Mexico.

New York

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Traffic light for bicycle use.Motorized bicycles in New York are classified according to their maximum speed on level ground. 

  • A Class A motorized bike has top speeds of 30 to 40 mph. These motorized bikes can be used in any traffic lane available to the public.
  • A Class B motorized bicycle has top speeds of 20 to 30 mph, and must use the right lane.
  • A Class C motorized bike has a top speed of 20 mph and must use the right lane.

License and Registration Requirements

Depending on the class, motorized bike riders must have one of the following:

  • A valid driver’s license.
  • A learner’s permit.
  • A motorcycle license in order to ride in New York.

You must register your motorized bike in New York, and you must purchase insurance if you’re operating either a Class A or Class B motorized bike.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 15 years old to operate a motorized bike in New York.

Helmet Laws

New York law requires riders with either Class A or Class B motorized bikes to wear protective eyewear and a helmet.

Light and Mirror Regulations

New York requires motorized bike riders to have:

  • A horn.
  • A headlight.
  • A taillight.
  • A license plate light.
  • A rear red reflector.
  • A muffler/silencer on your exhaust.
  • A rearview mirror.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in New York.

North Carolina

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In North Carolina, motorized bicycles must meet the following criteria:

  • Engine displacement must not exceed 50cc.
  • The engine must use an automatic transmission.
  • The motorized bike cannot reach speeds greater than 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Riders do not need a license to operate a motorized bicycle, but they do need to register their bike with the North Carolina DMV.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike on the highway or in other public areas.

Helmet Laws

North Carolina requires all riders to wear a helmet when operating a motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

North Carolina requires riders to use a headlight, taillight or reflector, and a rearview mirror.

  • If riders choose to register their motorized bicycles, they must also have a horn, license plate light, and brakes.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in North Carolina.

North Dakota

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In North Dakota, a motorized bike must have:

  • An engine displacement that does not exceed 49.98cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • Foot pedals.
  • Wheels no greater than 32 inches in diameter.
  • No more than two horsepower.
  • A top speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

 In order to legally operate a motorized bike, riders in North Dakota need one of the following:

  • A driver’s license.
  • A learner’s permit
  • A motorcycle license.

Motorized bike riders in North Dakota are required by law to register their vehicle.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 14 years old in order to operate a motorized bike on the highway or in other public areas.

Helmet Laws

North Dakota requires all riders under the age of 18 to wear a helmet when operating their motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Red rear reflector on motorized bicycle.North Dakota requires riders to use a headlight and either a red taillight or a red reflector when operating their motorized bike at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in North Dakota.

Ohio

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Ohio classifies motorized bicycles the same as mopeds, requiring that they:

  • Do not have engine displacement greater than 50cc.
  • Do not reach speeds greater than 20 mph.

Riders are not allowed to operate motorized bikes on freeways.

License and Registration Requirements

Riders in Ohio need a valid driver’s license or a moped license in order to use their motorized bicycle.

  • A motorized bike must be registered each year, and the owner must have a license plate for the bike.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 14 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

Ohio requires all riders under the age of 18 to wear a helmet when operating their motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Ohio requires all motorized bikes to be equipped with a rearview mirror.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Ohio.

Oklahoma

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Oklahoma classifies motorized bicycles as motor-driven bicycles with an engine displacement greater than 35cc.

License and Registration Requirements

Riders in Oklahoma need a Class A, B, C, or D license in order to operate a motorized bicycle.

  • You must register and title your motorized bike and obtain the appropriate tags before using your bike in Oklahoma. 

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

Oklahoma requires all riders to wear a helmet when operating their motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Oklahoma does not have any specific light or mirror regulations or restrictions in place.

  • Despite state regulations, we still recommend using lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Oklahoma.

Oregon

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Bicycle Lane on StreetIn Oregon, motorized bikes:

  • Cannot have an engine displacement greater than 50cc.
  • Must have an automatic transmission.
  • Must have a top speed of 30 mph on level ground.

Riders may not carry other passengers on their motorized bike.

License and Registration Requirements

Riders in Oregon only need to have a valid driver’s license in order to use a motorized bike.

  • You must register and purchase insurance for your motorized bike before using it in Oregon.

Minimum Age Requirement

Since Oregon requires riders to have a driver’s license, riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

Oregon requires all riders to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Oregon does not have any specific light or mirror regulations or restrictions.

  • Despite state regulations, it is still recommended that riders use lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Oregon.

Pennsylvania

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Pennsylvania, motorized bicycles:

  • Cannot have an engine displacement greater than 50cc.
  • Must have an automatic transmission.
  • Must have pedals.
  • Must have a top speed of 25 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

In order to operate a motorized bicycle in Pennsylvania, riders need to have a valid driver’s license.

  • You must register your motorized bike and obtain a license plate.

Minimum Age Requirement

Pennsylvania requires riders to have a driver’s license — as such, riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

Pennsylvania does not require riders to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

  • Despite state regulations, it is recommended that riders wear a helmet when operating motorized bikes.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Riders must have a headlamp, tail lamp, license plate light, side and rear reflective material, brake light, and parking lights.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Pennsylvania.

Rhode Island

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Rhode Island considers motorized bicycles to be mopeds, therefore:

  • Motorized bikes cannot have an engine displacement greater than 50cc.
  • Riders may not use their motorized bikes on interstate highways.

License and Registration Requirements

In order to use a motorized bicycle in Rhode Island, riders need to have a valid driver’s license.

  • You must register your motorized bike and obtain a title.

Minimum Age Requirement

Rhode Island motorized bike riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

Rhode Island requires riders under the age of 21 to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Rhode Island does not have any specific light or mirror regulations or restrictions that motorized bike riders must follow.

  • Despite state regulations, we recommend using lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Rhode Island.

South Carolina

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

South Carolina states that motorized bicycles:

  • Cannot have an engine displacement greater than 50cc.
  • Cannot reach top speeds of more than 30 mph on level ground.
  • Cannot have more than two horsepower.

License and Registration Requirements

In order to use a motorized bicycle in South Carolina, riders need to have a valid driver’s license.

  • You do not need to register or title your motorized bicycle, and you do not need insurance.

Minimum Age Requirement

Motorized bike with rear reflector and taillight.South Carolina motorized bike riders must be at least 14 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

  • At night, riders under the age of 16 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older if they wish to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

South Carolina requires riders under the age of 21 to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

  • Despite state regulations, we still recommend wearing a helmet when operating motorized bikes for additional safety.

Light and Mirror Regulations

South Carolina requires all motorized bikes to have a rearview mirror, brake lights, a headlight, and a taillight.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in South Carolina.

South Dakota

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

South Dakota classifies motorized bikes as mopeds and its legislation states:

  • Motorized bikes must have an engine that does not exceed 50cc.
  • Motorized bikes must have an automatic transmission.

License and Registration Requirements

In order to use a motorized bicycle in South Dakota, riders need to have a valid driver’s license or a learner’s permit.

  • Riders need to register their motorized bikes with the South Dakota Motor Vehicles Division.

Minimum Age Requirement

South Dakota motorized bike riders must be at least 14 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

South Dakota requires riders under the age of 18 to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

South Dakota requires all motorized bikes to have the following:

  • A single beam headlight visible at 100 feet.
  • A red rear taillight visible at 250 feet.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in South Dakota.

Tennessee

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Tennessee classifies motorized bikes as mopeds, therefore motorized bikes must have:

  • An engine that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • A maximum speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Tennessee riders need to have a valid driver’s license or a restricted minor’s license.

  • Riders need to register their motorized bikes and obtain plates.

Minimum Age Requirement

In Tennessee, motorized bike riders must be at least 15 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

Tennessee requires all riders to wear a helmet when operating their motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Tennessee requires all motorized bikes to be equipped with headlights, taillights, brake lights, a rearview mirror, a muffler, and a horn.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Tennessee.

Texas

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Bike lane in big city.Texas classifies motorized bikes as motor-driven cycles. Therefore, motorized bikes must have the following:

  • An engine that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • A maximum speed of 30 mph on level ground.

License and Registration Requirements

Motorized bike riders nneed to have a motorcycle license with a P36 restriction in Texas.

  • Riders need to register their motorized bikes the same way they would register a motorcycle.
  • Riders must also purchase insurance for their motorized bike and will be subject to annual bike inspections.

Minimum Age Requirement

In Texas, motorized bike riders must be at least 15 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

Texas law requires all riders to wear a helmet when operating a motorized bike.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Texas does not have specific guidelines for motorized bike lights or mirrors.

  • Despite state regulations, we still recommend using lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Texas.

Utah

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Utah, motorized bikes must have an engine that does not exceed 50cc and must have pedals.

License and Registration Requirements

Riders in Utah only need to have a valid driver’s license in order to operate their motorized bicycle.

  • Riders are not required to register their motorized bike before operating.

Minimum Age Requirement

In Utah, motorized bike riders must be at least 15 years old in order to operate a motorized bike.

Helmet Laws

Utah requires all riders under the age of 18 to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Utah does not have specific guidelines for motorized bike lights or mirrors.

  • Despite state regulations, it is recommended that you use lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Utah.

Vermont

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Vermont, motorized bikes must have:

  • An engine that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • No more than two horsepower.
  • A maximum speed of 30 mph on level ground.

Motorized bicycle riders cannot carry more passengers than their bike was designed to carry.

License and Registration Requirements

Riders in Vermont need to have a valid driver’s license in order to operate their motorized bicycle.

  • Riders do not need to register their motorized bicycle before operating.

Minimum Age Requirement

Because Vermont requires riders to have a driver’s license, riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike in the state.

Helmet Laws

Vermont requires all riders under the age of 18 to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Vermont does not have specific guidelines for motorized bike lights or mirrors.

  • Despite state regulations, it is highly recommended that you use lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night..

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Vermont.

Virginia

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Complete 2-stroke motorized bicycle.

Photo: BikeBerry (Facebook)

In Virginia, motorized bikes must have the following:

  • An engine that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An automatic transmission.
  • A seat that is at least 24 inches tall.
  • A max speed of 35 mph on level ground.

Motorized bike riders cannot carry more passengers than their bike was designed to carry.

License and Registration Requirements

Riders in Virginia need to have a valid driver’s license or another form of government-issued identification in order to operate their motorized bicycle.

  • A motorized bike must be registered before use.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike in the state of Virgina.

Helmet Laws

Virginia law requires all riders, whether they are the driver or the passenger, to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

  • Drivers must wear protective eye gear.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Virginia requires motorized bikes to have rear reflectors visible at a distance of 600 feet during times of day with low visibility.

  • Despite state regulations, we still recommend using lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Virginia.

Washington

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Washington, motorized bikes must have:

  • An engine that does not exceed 50cc.
  • An engine with no more than two horsepower.
  • A max speed of 30 mph on level ground.

Riders cannot use a motorized bike on the highway without a registration number. Motorized bikes cannot be used on trails, bike paths, or sidewalks.

License and Registration Requirements

Riders in Washington need to have a valid driver’s license in order to operate their motorized bicycle.

  • You will need to register your motorized bike the same way that you would register a car in the state.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike in Washington.

Helmet Laws

Washington requires all riders and passengers to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

  • Drivers must also wear protective eyewear.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Washington does not have any specific light or mirror regulations for motorized bicycles.

  • Despite state regulations, we recommend using lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night, as a precaution.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Washington.

West Virginia

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In West Virginia, motorized bikes are categorized in the same class as motorcycles.

  • Motorized bikes may not be used on trails, bike paths, sidewalks, or any areas where motorcycles are not allowed.

License and Registration Requirements

In West Virginia, riders need to have a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement in order to operate their motorized bicycle.

  • You will need to register and title your motorized bike in order to use it on the highway or street.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike in West Virginia.

Helmet Laws

West Virginia requires all riders to wear a helmet when operating a motorized bicycle.

Light and Mirror Regulations

West Virginia requires all motorized bikes to have a headlamp, taillights, brake lights, mirrors, a horn, a muffler, and fully operational brakes.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in West Virginia.

Wisconsin

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

Motorized bicycle riding down a bike trail.In Wisconsin, motorized bicycles are classified as mopeds as long as they meet the following criteria:

  • Engine displacement is not greater than 50cc.
  • They use an automatic transmission.

Riders cannot carry other passengers or use motorized bikes on sidewalks.

License and Registration Requirements

Wisconsin motorized bike riders need to have a valid driver’s license in order to operate their motorized bicycle.

  • You will need to register and title your motorized bike in order to use it on public roads.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike in Wisconsin.

Helmet Laws

In Wisconsin, riders are not required to wear a helmet when operating their motorized bicycle.

  • Despite state regulations, it is recommended that riders wear a helmet when operating motorized bikes as an added safety precation.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Wisconsin requires all motorized bikes to have at least one (but no more than two) headlamps.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Wisconsin.

Wyoming

What Constitutes a Motorized Bicycle?

In Wyoming, motorized bicycles are classified as mopeds as long as:

  • Their engine displacement is not greater than 50cc.
  • They have a top speed of 30 miles per hour.
  • They use an automatic transmission.
  • They have pedals.

Riders cannot carry other passengers or use motorized bikes on sidewalks.

License and Registration Requirements

In Wyoming, motorized bike riders need to have a valid driver’s license in order to operate their motorized bicycle.

  • Riders do not need to register their bikes in Wyoming.

Minimum Age Requirement

Riders must be at least 16 years old in order to operate a motorized bike in Wyoming.

Helmet Laws

In Wyoming, riders over the age of 18 are not required to wear a helmet when using their motorized bicycle.

  • Despite state regulations, wearing a helmet when operating motorized bikes is recommended though not enforced.

Light and Mirror Regulations

Wyoming does not have any specific light or mirror regulations for motorized bikes.

  • Despite state regulations, we still recommend using lights and mirrors when operating motorized bikes, especially at night.

Learn more about motorized bike laws in Wyoming.

Be Familiar with Your State’s Motorized Bike Laws

Motorized bicycle on the street.

Photo: BikeBerry (Facebook)

It’s important that you familiarize yourself with your state’s motorized bike laws if you’re planning on riding. In addition, certain counties and cities may have additional rules and regulations in place for motorized bicycles. For more information regarding any further restrictions, it’s best to visit your local DMV for specific details.

When you keep your state’s rules in mind and stay up-to-date with any changes made to them, you will be able to fully enjoy riding a motorized bicycle in your state.

Please note: The information in this article is for educational and informational purposes only. This guide is meant to present information that is general in nature. Please refer to your local state, city, and county laws and regulations for further information.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published